Deafening Silence.

“Christ alone can bring lasting peace – peace with God – peace amount men and nations – and peace within our hearts.”

Billy Graham

Hello to all. Writing to you from the gorgeous sunshine here in Haus, Austria. We’ve had blue bird days for about a week! It’s been very lovely getting some vitamin D to lift the spirits. Although everywhere is already starting to get a little bit drippy, and I saw the first patch of green grass peeping through the snow yesterday and I’m looking forward to seeing the Edelweiss popping out when spring arrives. Although maybe not quite yet, there are rumours of the very last dumping of snow next week!

I’ve really been trying to appreciate the peace and silence these past couple of weeks. 

I’ve had a couple of lone skiing days, which has been very lovely, and I was lucky enough to catch a couple of chair lifts on my own! Personally I love this rare and gorgeous occasion! As you sit slowly ascending up the mountain, looking down it’s like seeing jewels glistening as the sun beats down on the fresh snow, reflecting into your eyes. All you can hear is the deafening silence (along with the odd twittering of the birds in the evergreen trees) peace at its purest. In these moments, all I want to do is chat to God, like having my own perfect pocket of time with our glorious father. 

If you’ve spent time in the mountains, I know you’ll understand this, however I would say if anyone hasn’t experienced it yet… GO or alternately COME and see me! There is noting quite like it, and I appreciate how incredible fortunate I am to spend 5 months here. I am determined to make the most of every single day, and experience as much as I can! 

I have a really lovely week last week with Mum, Dad and Emma coming to stay, my first visitors! There trip was short, but lots of fun. Ems spent the morning helping me with my morning shift; I got her to work straight away, cleaning the windows and wiping tables! 

We even managed to get Mum and Dad into an old Gondola to head up the mountain, and although they both looked quite pale, they kept there eyes open the whole time! 

Once up the mountain we enjoyed a glorious walk through the trees and stopped for Vienna schnitzel! 

The best moment was when Dad took a big handful of what he thought was grated cheese… turned out to be the strongest horseradish he’d ever had – this caused much laughter from us and huffing and puffing from him! It was very lovely to be able to share a bit of this place with them. I am looking forward to my God Mother, Virginia and her kids coming to see me end of Feb and then Jos and Sally coming middle of March. 

This weeks highlights: 

  • Giving some ski lessons to Duncan’s Hungarian girlfriend. 
  • A little worship session one evening 
  • Making heart biscuits for all the guests on Valentines Day. 
  • Receiving some lovely tulips from all the team! 
  • watching The Sound of Music in Austira!
  • Getting first lift on my morning off and be the only person on the slopes! 

Much love to all, see you soon. xx

One thought on “Deafening Silence.

Leave a comment